Book Review: The Glittering Court

reviewFor a select group of girls, the Glittering Court offers a shot at a life they’ve only ever dreamed of, one of luxury, glamour, and leisure. To high-born Adelaide, whose wealthy 51g2odtud9l-_sx329_bo1204203200_family is forcing her into a loveless marriage, the Glittering Court represents something else: the chance to chart her own
destiny, and adventure in an unspoiled, prosperous new land across the sea.
 
After a chance meeting with the dazzling Cedric Thorn, Adelaide poses as a servant to join the crop of impoverished girls he promises to transform into proper ladies. But her familiarity with upper class life comes with a price: she must hide her identity from her new friends, mysterious refugee Mira and fiery former laundress Tamsin, and most importantly, from Cedric himself—even though she’s falling in love with him. 
 
Everything begins to crumble when Cedric discovers Adelaide’s ruse, and she catches the eye of a powerful young governor, who wants her for a wife. She didn’t leave the gilded cage of her old life behind just to become someone else’s property. But nothing is as daunting—or as wonderful—as the potent, forbidden attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. One that, if acted on, would make them both outcasts in a wild, dangerous, uncharted world, and possibly lead them to their deaths.

Synopsis is from amazon.

Review with minor spoilers is under the cut.

hearts

I’ve been eyeing this book up ever since it came out back in April and I’ve finally gotten around to reading it after finding a copy at a library near me! I’ve loved Richelle Mead’s books ever since I first started reading Bloodlines nearly two years ago (yes, I know I’m rather late to the game) so I knew that I needed to check this one out. Plus the cover’s gorgeous, isn’t it?

I had just watched Reign when I was finally able to actually pick this up and read it so I already had the mindset of the sixteenth century at the time. I’m not sure if that’s actually what time period this book really takes place in but that’s what my gut is telling me. I did notice a few similarities between Mary Stuart in Reign and Adelaide in The Glittering Court, it’s probably just a coincidence but I was thoroughly enthralled by it.

The romance aspect in this book did seem slightly rushed but that’s probably due to the fact that the book would jump days and months at a time. That being said, I do ship Cedric and Adelaide and I’m rather curious on what the next book will bring them, whether or not Mira’s perspective will hint on any possibilities.

I wish Mead had given us a bit more background on Adelaide – or Elizabeth if you want to go with the name she was hinted at having before she took on her servant’s identity – or at least some extra information at the end regarding the real Adelaide Bailey. Did she actually join her family? Is she living a more fulfilling life now than she had back when she was a servant?

Overall, I really enjoyed this book although it did take me a little longer to read than I’d have liked. The chapters were a bit longer than I had expected and life kept getting in the way of my reading. I can honestly say that I’ve heard talk about hierarchy a lot more than I expected this year but I am finding out that I’m loving books, tv shows, and movies set in this time period with nobility/royalty a lot more. If you’re a fan of Reign, I’d definitely recommend checking out this book.

hearts

PS. Use my link to sign up for Fierce Reads and get access to exclusive content from MacMillan!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Glittering Court

  1. myislandofbooks says:

    Totally agree with you! I felt the romance was a bit rushed and I also felt like I did not know Adelaide as much as I knew Rose and Sydney from Richelle Meads other books. It’s a little hard when your used to knowing the characters inside and out and then you pick up this one and it’s a little different. Still enjoyed it though like all of her books! There was a lot of great things about it.

    Like

    • Jackiemarie16 says:

      Agreed! I haven’t read Vampire Academy yet but I loved Bloodlines. I’m excited for the next book though, maybe we’ll get more info on Adelaide in that one since it’s supposed at be a different perspective.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

