Book Review: Divergent

review

divergent_book_by_veronica_roth_us_hardcover_2011In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue—Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is—she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are—and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

If you couldn’t already tell by my blog name and url, I absolutely love this series!!! Veronica’s actually the one that got me back into reading a lot. I was so consumed with reading for school that I rarely picked up a book to read for pleasure throughout high school (other than The Hunger Games.)

It’s funny because I actually picked this book up when it first came out in 2012 thinking that it was a different book, but I quickly devoured it and it’s been my favorite ever since!

I was sucked into Dystopian Chicago rather quickly, my imagination easily sliding into the pages as I read along. It helped that Tris Prior is about my height in real life, we also have the same blonde hair. She was this tiny sixteen year old girl from Abnegation who did what she was told despite knowing in her heart that she wasn’t like her family. …And then she took the plunge into another faction away from her family… That’s something that I still can’t do to this day, so clearly I still have a lot to learn from Tris Prior. Maybe that’s why I re-read this series so much.

Anyway, as the book went on, I fell in love with Four. He was Tris’ rock when she needed him but he also didn’t treat her like she was a delicate, breakable thing either. I fell in love with their love story.

I’m still bummed that parts of this book didn’t make it into the movie. I made a timeline for the events a while back, they can be found in this post, and I also have a little reference sheet with all of the characters, the factions, places, etc in a google docs file. This series really helped me, and I’ll forever love Veronica Roth for that.

hearts

Leave a Reply

