Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Contains spoilers)

review16096824

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

 

 

This is surprisingly the first Sarah J. Maas book I’ve ever read and I really only picked it up because of the bookstagram community. I had no idea this book had even existed until May 2016 when everyone was getting hyped up about A Court of Mist and Fury. My curiosity had gotten the best of me and I wondered what all of the hype had been about. When I saw that my library didn’t have it, I was a little upset at first until they informed me that they could send out for it and I could borrow it from another library.

So I waited a few days and then went to pick it up. I definitely do not regret it.

The book is supposed to be a retelling of Beauty and the Beast (honestly, I still don’t understand how it is but we’ll go with it…) I mean, the only connection I could make was the fact that Feyre had to come in the faeries places… and that Tamlin was cursed. Otherwise, that’s pretty much where the similarities end, thankfully.

I was honestly reading to scream by the time I got towards the end of the book, I was scared to death that there’d be no happy ending and that this would be the end of Feyre. To my pleasure, it wasn’t. I really should have read the description for the second book but my angst filled brain hadn’t exactly thought that far ahead and I didn’t want to risk spoiling myself.

Since finishing it, I realized that I definitely need more ACOTAR in my life. A few weeks later, I had the second book in my hands. It’s been seven months since I’ve read the book, I’ll be adding in a review of the second book soon here, and I can’t wait for the third. Just because a book may not seem like your cup of tea at first, doesn’t mean that it won’t be one that you’ll want to cherish later on in the story.

hearts

3 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (Contains spoilers)

Leave a Reply

