Book Review: My Life Next Door

review16101144“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

hearts

So one of my best friend’s actually recommended this book to me! She knows that I enjoy a good contemporary now and then, especially romances. I’m also a sucker for the girl falling for the guy she shouldn’t have. In this case, her mother would disapprove. Also the couple of the cover is marvelous!

This book literally made me so happy despite it’s moments of having a rather solemn tone to it – that’s more towards the end, though. It was refreshing to read a book that had no love triangles and just a more pure first love feel to it. If anyone has any recommendations, PLEASE let me know in the comments!

I also realized, by reading this book, that it’s made my love life seem even more impossible. I also realized that Huntley’s writing sort of reminded me of Sarah Dessen’s? Not sure if anyone else had that vibe as well…

If you love romance books WITHOUT the drama or love triangle, I definitely recommend checking this one out! I’m excited to see if there’s more of Sam and Jase in the second book which follows Jase’s sister.

hearts

Leave a Reply

