Book Review: Heartless

 

review

51mtojy2bp2l-_sx331_bo1204203200_


Long before she was the terror of Wonderland―the infamous Queen of Hearts―she 

was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love. Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

Synopsis from Amazon.

Even the blackest heart once beat red…

I was really excited to read this book (and the cover under the jacket is gorgeous) so when I saw one of the bookclubs on instagram (socialbookclub) was reading it, I decided to participate! This is also my first Marissa Meyer book I’ve read and I have to admit that I thoroughly love her writing!! I’ll have to pick up more books by her very soon!

Giving the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland was absolutely genius! This is the first time I’ve read any of Marissa Meyer’s books and I plan on reading more of it soon!

I absolutely loved that Catherine bakes, and that she loves her lemon tarts, I really hope someone makes a recipe inspired by hers (unless there’s already one out… In which case, please link me!)

I found her mother to be a real piece of work, though I do understand that she’s trying to marry her off, it’s not right to fit your daughter into a dress she stated didn’t fit her. Then to deny her dinner because you needed her corset tighter? Mother of the year right there. She wants what she believes is best for Cath and not what her daughter wishes.

I absolutely adored the chapter that the Joker was introduced in. The raven that kept him company was also rather amusing, mainly because I love Edgar Allan Poe’s works and he was an ode to The Raven.

I also have to admit that about halfway through the book, this gave me major anxiety. I found myself constantly tapping on something while I was reading it because of how much I love Cath and Jest together! But I already knew, if Marissa goes canon, that this will only end in heartbreak so I was rather anxious about getting to the ending, because I felt like my heart was going to completely break… Why do I have to torture myself with angst?!

The sudden change in Catherine towards the end of the book caught me by surprise. I know how the Queen of Hearts is in the Disney version of Alice in Wonderland but I had not expected that attitude so quickly. But, I suppose betrayal could change a person quite a lot.

Just when things started looking up…. I. Got. My. Heart. Ripped. Out. By. Yet. Another. Book.

hearts

 

 

Leave a Reply

