Book Review: Nerve

 

review25431123

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her. They tempt her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and team her up with the perfect boy, sizzling-hot Ian. At first it’s exhilarating–Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes. But the game takes a twisted turn when they’re directed to a secret location with five other players for the Grand Prize round. Suddenly they’re playing all or nothing, with their lives on the line. Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?

 

 

 

I’m going to be honest here and say that I don’t typically make it a habit to watch the movie adaptation before reading the book but I did this time. I simply love Emma Roberts and Dave Franco that I needed to watch it… and then I found out that it was based on a book.

If you have any interest in this book, DON’T WATCH THE MOVIE FIRST!! There’s so many differences and it’ll simply throw off your reading experience. I’m pretty sure I would have liked this book a lot more if I had read it before watching the movie.

I don’t typically prefer the move tie-in instead of the original covers of the books but I do particularly like this one. It’s pleasing to the eye and looks wonderful on my bookshelf!

Now, onto the book, I surprisingly devoured this in less than a day, I simply couldn’t stop reading because it was written so well. It’s essentially a book of dares where you get paid in money or items which the game accesses through your phone and computer. It’s creepy that it can access your personal information but who cares if you get prizes out of the deal, right?

Teenagers will simply do anything to get what they want. I did love the pairing of Vee and Ian (both in the book and the movie) so they made the book worth reading on their own. The ending was pretty messed up, and I was having a bit of a problem with picturing it in my head. I hated the betrayal that ended up taking place and the very beginning of the book still has me rather confused. I’m not completely sure as to what had happened there.

Overall, it was a pretty good book, it has a fast-paced plot but there’s not really any character development. At all.

hearts

Leave a Reply

