ARC Review: Brother’s Ruin

 

review5185zy1pmnl-_sx311_bo1204203200_

The year is 1850 and Great Britain is flourishing, thanks to the Royal Society of the Esoteric Arts. When a new mage is discovered, Royal Society elites descend like buzzards to snatch up a new apprentice. Talented mages are bought from their families at a tremendous price, while weak mages are snapped up for a pittance. For a lower middle class family like the Gunns, the loss of a son can be disastrous, so when seemingly magical incidents begin cropping up at home, they fear for their Archie’s life and their own livelihoods.

But Archie Gunn isn’t a talented mage. His sister Charlotte is, and to prevent her brother from being imprisoned for false reporting she combines her powers with his to make him seem a better prospect. However, maintaining the charade will mean masquerading as Archie’s assistant, and delaying or destroying her own plans for marriage.

When she discovers a nefarious plot by the sinister Doctor Ledbetter, Charlotte must use all her cunning and guile to protect her family, her secret and her city.

Synopsis from Amazon.

hearts

*I was provided with an e-copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I honestly really enjoyed reading this one although it took me a while due to not liking ro read e-books on my phone.

The first fifty pages or so did take me a while to read, but I quickly breezed through the rest of the story. I absolutely loved our main character and the world Emma Newman has created for us! There was more character development in 117 pages than most books I’ve recently picked up. If it hadn’t been for Tor listing this for review, I probably would have never actually picked this one up.

I am rather curious on the description for this book. The copy I recieved is similar but it veers off as well. I’m wondering if it covers the sequel?

If you enjoy stories set in different centuries with a touch of magic, set in the Uk, I’d definitely recommend giving this one a read!

hearts

Leave a Reply

