Arc Review: Someone Else’s Summer

review31933221

Anna’s always idolized her older sister, Storm. So when Storm dies in a tragic car accident on the night of her high school graduation, Anna is completely lost and her family is torn apart. That is, until she finds Storm’s summer bucket list and decides to honor her sister by having the best summer ever—which includes taking an epic road trip to the coast from her sleepy Iowa town. Setting out to do everything on Storm’s list along with her sisters best friend Cameron—the boy next door—who knew that Storm’s dream summer would eventually lead to Anna’s own self-discovery?

 

 

hearts

*Disclaimer: I received an e-arc of this from the publisher through Netgalley.

There are spoilers below. The book is set to come out May 9, 2017

I honestly really enjoyed this book! It’s a contemporary which is something I haven’t been reading a lot lately so it was a nice welcome change. Going into this book, I wasn’t completely sure on what to expect. It’s a little funny because I logged into my netgalley account shortly after entering a contest on goodreads for this particular book. Little did I know, I’d get to read it right away!

It starts out with Anna’s older sister, Storm, passing away in a car accident and the events that follow during the funeral. Honestly, at the beginning, Anna sounded a lot like me and I think that’s why I was able to get so involved with this story-line. There’s a chapter where she finds her sister’s summer bucket list, and one of the things on there was to “be brave,” now, when she’s first taken to complete that particular item, she’s hesitant because she won’t do anything “dangerous and stupid.” I’m the exact same way where my mind jumps to the worse case scenario and I refuse to do something.

The list continues and Carmen and Anna end up taking a road trip to cross off other items on the list, traveling from Iowa to North Carolina. I loved the details towards the southern food that was mentioned, it definitely made me quite hungry for certain things – the pulled pork with the slaw and sauce is quite tempting after trying it while I was in North Carolina last year – and it was a nice detail in the story, though it’s not important in the least. I especially loved the Polaroid pictures, it’d had a Taylor Swift-esque feel to it.

Towards the end, I was caught by surprise. I hadn’t expected the real reason behind Storm’s death, nor had I fully expected Anna to react the way that she had. But the overall ending was absolutely amazing and I really hope that Rachel decides to maybe make a follow-up to this with either Anna’s future after she graduates or way into the future so that we can see if she really did decide to take her life into her own hands after following her sister for so long.

hearts

Leave a Reply

